The Sunvitational Speech & Debate Tournament

January 10-12, 2020
NSU University School Campus
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

NSU University School's Sunvitational Speech & Debate Tournament is designed to create the best possible experience for all speech and debate competitors, coaches, judges, and parents. We are proud to have hosted the tournament for 11 years. Recognized as the second largest tournament in Florida last year, the competition brought together 909 students from 12 different states.

Aside from the awards we offer for competitive excellence, we also extend the following awards:

  • Jenny Cook Mentorship Award to two deserving coaches who dedicate countless hours to mentorship
  • Sunvitational Service Award for outstanding commitment to the tournament from someone not directly related to the NSU University School Speech and Debate team
  • Eletz Student Service Award to a student who uses their speech and debate skills to enhance the community

The Sunvitational features TOC bids in all events:

  • Public Forum -- Octafinals
  • Lincoln Douglas -- Finals
  • Congressional Debate -- Tier 3
  • Speech -- bids for the Tournament of Champions (TOC) and the National Individual Event Tournament of Champions (NIETOC)


2019 Sunvitational Champions

  • Congressional Debate: Luca Zislin (American Heritage at Plantation, Florida)
  • Dramatic Interpretation: Warren Forstmann (Miramar High School, Florida)
  • Duo Interpretation: Mikey King and Eli Shall (Chagrin Falls, Ohio)
  • Extemporaneous Speaking: Joseph Mullen (Cypress Bay High School, Florida)
  • Humorous Interpretation: Claire Nelson (Eagan High School, Minnesota)
  • Impromptu Speaking: Eli Finkelstein (Trinity Preparatory School, Florida)
  • Informative Speaking: Christian Chase (St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Florida)
  • Lincoln Douglas Debate: Robbie Gillespie (American Heritage at Plantation, Florida)
  • Original Oratory: Cory Wurtenberger (Cypress Bay High School, Florida)
  • Program Oral Interpretation: Daliss Hicks (Miramar High School, Florida)
  • Public Forum Debate: Andrew Huang and Albi Manfredi (Lake Mary Preparatory School, Florida)

2017 Sunvitational Champions

  • Congressional Debate -- Gregory Seabrooks (Oxbridge Academy)
  • Dramatic Interpretation -- Maya Hedrick (Cypress Bay High School)
  • Duo Interpretation -- Claire Doty and Zakkiyah Sanders (Apple Valley High School)
  • Extemporaneous Speaking -- Jacob Thompson (Des Moines Roosevelt)
  • Humorous Interpretation -- Jared Shapiro (Hawken School)
  • Impromptu Speaking -- Nathan Kruse (Battle Ground Academy)
  • Informative Speaking -- Amanda Dickerson (Millard West High School)
  • Lincoln Douglas Debate -- Javier Navarrete (Christopher Columbus High School)
  • Original Oratory -- Rickey Williams (Apple Valley High School)
  • Program Oral Interpretation -- Haleigh McGirt (Jupiter High School)
  • Public Forum Debate -- Jonah Platovsky and Jordan Parker (American Heritage at Plantation)

2017 Round Robin Champions

  • Extemporaneous Speaking -- David Polefrone (Marriotts Ridge High School)
  • Original Oratory -- Nikhil Dharmaraj (The Harker School)
  • Interpretation -- Haleigh McGirt (Jupiter High School)
  • Congressional Debate -- Gregory Seabrooks (Oxbridge Academy)

Register Now

Click here to register for the 2020 Sunvitational Tournament at NSU University School.

Facebook Feed